Emma Watson’s Book Group

A description of Watson’s book group plus a description of her first book

For those of you who don’t already know, Emma Watson recently decided to start a new feminist book group titled: Our Shared Shelf Its goal is to have everyone reading the same books, and then there can be discussions about them and stuff.  There are sections for debates about feminism (but everyone’s a feminist so it’s mostly just discussions) suggesting new books, and talking about the ones that everyone has already read.

Her first book selection, My Life on the Road, by Gloria Steinem, is a New York Times best seller.  Steinem not only founded Ms. magazine and attended the National Women’s Conference– she also worked with women in India and was a traveling journalist during the 60’s.  All of these many experiences make her qualified to write what the New York Times describes as:

“A warmly companionable look back at nearly five decades as itinerant feminist organizer and standard-bearer. If you’ve ever wondered what it might be like to sit down with Ms. Steinem for a casual dinner, this disarmingly intimate book gives a pretty good idea, mixing hard-won pragmatic lessons with more inspirational insights.” ~The New York Times

Personally, I already joined Emma’s Goodreads group.  You have to be a member of Goodreads to enter, but I think it is HIGHLY worth it.  I can’t speak towards Emma’s group, since I haven’t read the first book yet (even though it was supposed to be finished by today, oops!), but Goodreads as a whole is a great community to find books to read, new blogs, roleplays, and so much more.  I have personally found dozens of books that I would have never heard about just by checking out what other people on Goodreads gave 5 stars.

At this point, you have three courses of action:

  • Joined Goodreads here
  • Go directly to Emma’s new book club (because you already have a Goodreads account) and see what the hype is about here
  • And finally, you could purchase Gloria Steinem’s book (here) or find out more about her (here)

If you have already read the book or do end up buying it, tell us what you think in the comments!

(PS- to never miss a blog post and see so much more, follow me on Twitter @Isobel_Moon or sign up for my email listing)

Author: Joce

I read and I write about it. If I'm not online or with my nose in a book, I can probably be found at the basketball court.

2 thoughts on “Emma Watson’s Book Group”

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

