FictionPress or Wattpad?

The great debate. Which platform should I use to post my latest story/poem/fanfic?  There’s really no definite answer, and it depends more upon personal preference, but here are some pros and cons of the two that I have had experience with.

FictionPress

A platform to post stories, poems, or essays. Fictionpress.com. This also refers to fanfiction.net, the big sister of fictionpress. Fanfiction.net is a platform for fanfics only (obviously), and most people on one use the other I think

Pros:

  • Easy upload technique lets you store your already written docs
  • Community forums are a great way to get to know people and make friends
  • This is the one I use, and I like the way you can input your story chapters, categorization, and pretty much everything about it better

Cons:

  • More difficult to use and learn the formatting of
  • Two different sites for fanfics and regular works of fiction

Wattpad

I’ve admittedly had less experience with Wattpad than FictionPress, but here is what I thought about it

Pros:

  • Very user friendly
  • More young people (which I guess isn’t a pro or a con)
  • Can post fanfics and regular fiction in the same place with just one account
  • Better for fanfic stuff, regular writing doesn’t get a lot of attention here I’ve found
  • Easier to find stuff to read
  • Can type directly into it

Cons:

  • More young people (which means more stupid, immature writing styles)
  • Cannot upload files directly
  • The tagging feature wasn’t as good, and I find you didn’t get as many reviews of your work
  • There are more people, but fewer really close communities to join
  • I don’t know why but it just felt like it was meant for children, feel free to disagree

Writers Cafe

So admittedly it’s been a VERY long time since I have used this. But it wasn’t because I didn’t like it. I just wanted to consolidate all of my work onto FictionPress, so that I could end up getting a following of people and really feel like my work was getting noticed. This platform was fun because there were challenges which you could create or join, and sooooo many people would submit their poetry or stories and it was a really nice way to get to see other people’s similar works.  I think there was a great community there, and would highly recommend it for everyone looking to have fun writing shorter stuff that meets challenge requirements or that likes to have specific prompts, in addition to freestyle stuff, to write and post.
There are also other websites to use, such as NaNoWriMo (I just couldn’t get into that but maybe you will), teenink.com, and so many more. Feel free to share your favorites, I’m always looking for new suggestions!

One thought on “FictionPress or Wattpad?

Leave a Reply

