My Favourite Book to Movie Adaptations

After reading Isobel’s post about her opinions of book to movie adaptations, I felt inspired to share some of my favourite book to movie adaptations with you!

Let’s start with a classic: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. This film won several Oscars including; Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Adapted Screenplay. Despite the fact that this film is very different from the book in terms or narration, as the film mainly follow R. P. McMurphy whereas the book is written from Chief Bromden’s point of view, it is just as equally wonderful as the book. Jack Nicholson’s portrayal of R. P. McMurphy is eerily accurate and I loved the humour he brought to the film which gave it a bit of light relief.

9985094

One of my favourites from the romantic comedy genre is Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging. I read the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series during my early teen years and when I saw that the first book was to become a movie I was book extremely excited and a little sceptical. The movie is quite different to the books however that is the reason why I love it so much. In my mind I can separate the books and the movie and I love them both for different reasons. To this day, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging is one of my go to movies.

angus_georgia

I could not write this without mentioning The Hunger Games movies franchise. In my opinion, and I am sure many others feel the same, this movie franchise is one of the most amazing book to movie adaptation in the YA genre. The movies are so similar that I actually prefer the movies to the books (don’t shoot me I beg you!). And for once the changes they have made make sense and a lot of the changes they have made I love, such as including Effie Trinket in the Mockingjay films because she is very absent in the books.

Effie1

The fourth and final film I wanted to mention was Brighton Rock (2011). Brighton Rock by Graham Greene was published in 1938 and is a murder thriller that follows gangster Pinky Brown trying to cover up a murder committed by his gang. The only witness to this murder is young girl named Rose and thus Pinky tries to keep her quiet by becoming romantically involved with her. The 2011 adaptation of Brighton Rock is my all-time favourite movie, let alone my just favourite book to movie adaptation. Despite the book being set in 1930, the 2011 film moved the setting to the 1960’s mods and the rockers era, which I my opinion is what makes this film outstanding. As well as this Sam Riley brought an almost caring side to Pinky, an emotion that is very absent in the book, and plays the role extremely well. Comparing the movie to the book, obviously there were some changes but they were all for the better. I love both the book and the movie and would recommend both if you are into murder thrillers.

brighton_rock_movie_image_sam_riley_andrea_riseborough

Author: Shannon Rose

Full time university student studying archaeology as well as a book blogger and booktuber. Some of my favourite books include Nineteen-Eighty-Four, Rebecca, The Book Thief and YA series such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Mortal Instruments and The Grisha Trilogy.

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Book to Movie Adaptations”

  1. I fully agree with you on the hunger games one. it’s definitely the best ya adapted. personally, i prefer the first thg book to the movie (because it was a life changing book for me), but also because the last two books were rushed and the story felt like it was lacking???? or is this just me?? the movies were great, especially how they split the last one up into 2 movies so they could cover more (where the book missed a whole lot out).
    i never read cockoo’s nest, but i cant stand the movie. i saw it in school as a film study and hated it. i think if i wasn’t forced to watch it i may have enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I am sure if you were not forced to watch it you may have enjoyed it a lot more! It is a very difficult film to watch but I love it all the same! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

