Has reading for pleasure become rarer among the younger generations?

As a book blogger and frequent reader of fiction for fun you become less and less aware of what is going on outside the world of avid readers and bloggers. Thinking back to when I was in high school, myself and many of my friends did love to read for fun however, there were some who often stated that they hated reading and found it incredibly boring. Even in m y younger years these statements shocked me and even thinking about it now makes me incredibly sad.

But the real question is whether as more interesting technology and social media sites are becoming incredibly popular with younger generation, reading for pleasure is becoming less and less frequent. As an only child, I have no younger sibling or even young family members in which I could take an example from. But it does worry me that younger generation are becoming less inclined to read and are perhaps stunting their own literary growth in doing so.

With hugely popular book to movie adaptation such as The Hunger Games, does this promote reading to do the complete opposite by making it easier for younger generation to NOT read the books?

I think the real question I am asking is whether we, the book bloggers and avid readers, could do something in order to promote reading for pleasure into the younger generations? Thinking about it now, years ago when my high school friends said that they found reading boring, it pains me that I did not offer up a book recommendation to show them that this is not the case. So now as an avid reader who had read more than enough books to give the younger generations sufficient recommendations to get them into reading, what can I or we do in order to get the younger generations excited about reading again?

I would love to hear your thoughts and ideas on this topic!

One thought on “Has reading for pleasure become rarer among the younger generations?

  1. Agreed on the reading in high school aspect. And to be honest that was me (can’t believe my dumb brain). Mostly I read non-fiction books for advice and such, but never jumped into fiction books UNTIL I realized that writing fiction short stories was something I loved to do. You say one of your favorite books is 1984, you should check out my blog post about a new PC game called “Orwell”. Pretty interesting stuff, look forward to reading more of your blogs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

