NaNoWriMo and Me Arguing with Myself

Before I start this, I just want to take a second to thank everyone who has been following me, both here on my blog and Twitter, and loyally reading my work. It means so much to me, and with your help I’ve just reached 50 WordPress followers and 300 Twitter followers!!!! Thank you all for caring what I have to say! I’m so shocked and excited!

So this year I totally forgot that NaNoWriMo was starting, and so obviously I didn’t join. (That’s not quite true, I started on the 20th and then didn’t write much). But it started me thinking about whether NaNoWriMo is even a beneficial aspect of the writing community.  Being conflicted and enjoying a good argument, I instantly began thinking about both sides of the argument, fighting internally with myself (I know, lame).  And now, since I recently realized that you can change the text color, I decided to share my thought process.  It went a little bit like this.

Well, of course NaNoWriMo is good, it gets so many people to start writing a story, and most of them wouldn’t have otherwise.

You imbecile, sure, they’re writing, but it’s not actually GOOD and besides, how many of them would actually finish.

*sighs* but there are some people who do finish, and those are the important ones.  Think about it– even if only 10 people finish a year (and it’s way more than that), that’s 10 more novels in the world that we wouldn’t have had otherwise.

Oh, yeah, and I’m sure it’s top quality work.

No, but you need to start somewhere, and the point is to later go back and edit.  You have a year in between to edit and complete it after NaNoWriMo itself is over.  That’s sort of the point.

“That’s sort of the point” yuck you sound so annoying.  Maybe those same people who wrote awful pieces during November would have written polished pieces in three months time.

Maybe so, or maybe they wouldn’t have started writing at all!

Well, if their writing sucks, then it would probably be a good thing.

The more writers there are, the better.  After all, it doesn’t hurt to have a new option next time you’re looking for a book to read.

Oh yeah, I can see the review now.  1/5 for no grammar, plot, or character development.

It wouldn’t get published if it was that bad.  They have time to edit.  Plus, it’s fun.

Exactly! Have you ever read a published NaNoWriMo? No? Me neither (obviously, we’re the same person).  Because none of them ever turn out that good.

You’re insulting everyone who’s ever done NaNoWriMo out of sheer writing enjoyment.

Then they would write anyways and the month is deemed irrelevant again.

No, because it inspires people to write more than they would otherwise, in a shorter amount of time, and then maybe they will be able to rewrite and finish and publish and be amazing and basically turn into the next JK Rowling all because of a simply National Writing Month that you want to get rid of.

blah blah blah… the point is that in that one month, they can’t write anything good.

Obviously, I was very contradictory.  I don’t want to devalue anyone who does NaNoWriMo, succeeds, and loves it, but at the same time I really don’t see how you could write that many words in just one month.  I just don’t think it’s possible.  Plus, I see the value in going back to edit more frequently than the 50,000 word goal allows.  Still, there are (contrary to my black internal voice) some really good pieces that come out of it.

To try and convince my dark side, please share your finished NaNoWriMo stories below! What are your opinions on the month, whether you participated or not?

Leave a Reply

