Looking forward on March (There’s so many good books in my future)

Welcome to March!! With luck Spring will come, the weather will become warm, and I will start my first real coaching job!! Woohoo, things to look forward to!! Besides that, obviously, I should be reading!

March TBR…

This month is very, very ambitious, with a total of 7, but I’ve already started the first 3 so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to manage at least starting all of them.518855

  1. The Constant Princess– so far so good, I love learning about history in a romantic, definitely fictional way (I say that with zero sarcasm). BUY ON AMAZONfourthmonkey_3d2
  2. The Fourth Monkey– I can’t wait to find out what happens, and love the way the plot works.  BUY ON AMAZON21853621
  3. The Nightingale– Isabel is my favorite person EVER.  If I lived 70 years ago we totally would have been best friends. BUY ON AMAZON20820994
  4. I’ll Give you the Sun– I read the first chapter of this before being delayed by my buddy reader, and I can already tell that I’m going to love it, and it seems like a cute, easier read which is always fun. BUY ON AMAZONImage result for kit's law
  5. Kit’s Law– I bought this at Book Barn last Spring, and it still sounds really good, I just for some reason haven’t read it.  Well, it’s about time, and I’m going to break it open. BUY ON AMAZONGo Set a Watchman (To Kill A Mockingbird #2)
  6. Go Set a Watchman– It seems weird that I haven’t read this yet since I was so excited for its release.  After I finish Nightingale, I plan on getting this as an audiobook and cranking through it. BUY ON AMAZON

    caravaltyink
    Carval // The You I’ve Never Known
  7. Caraval or The You I’ve Never Known– I have a $12 Barnes and Noble gift card which means that I’m going to buy a physical book to add to my collection.  I want both of these so badly so it’s probably going to depend on my gut when I’m actually in the store.  I’m leaning towards TYINK right now, but if I can get to the store in the beginning of the month it might be Caraval, as The Perks of Being a Book Addict is doing a group read of that right now. BUY CARAVAL // BUY THE YOU I’VE NEVER KNOWN

Hot Releases…

Just a reminder that to pick these books I scroll through the Goodreads list of all 200 top rated March releases, “open in new tab” all the ones whose covers and/or name grab me, and then flip through and narrow those 25 down to 5.  So I’m missing a lot of good books, and this is by no means the end all be all of book publishing. Summaries are from Goodreads, book cover links go to Goodreads.

25150798The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane (March 21st)– A thrilling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been adopted by an American couple.  Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been ever thus for generations. Then one day a jeep appears at the village gate—the first automobile any of them have seen—and a stranger arrives.  In this remote Yunnan village, the stranger finds the rare tea he has been seeking and a reticent Akha people. In her biggest seller, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, See introduced the Yao people to her readers. Here she shares the customs of another Chinese ethnic minority, the Akha, whose world will soon change. Li-yan, one of the few educated girls on her mountain, translates for the stranger and is among the first to reject the rules that have shaped her existence. When she has a baby outside of wedlock, rather than stand by tradition, she wraps her daughter in a blanket, with a tea cake hidden in her swaddling, and abandons her in the nearest city.  After mother and daughter have gone their separate ways, Li-yan slowly emerges from the security and insularity of her village to encounter modern life while Haley grows up a privileged and well-loved California girl. Despite Haley’s happy home life, she wonders about her origins; and Li-yan longs for her lost daughter. They both search for and find answers in the tea that has shaped their family’s destiny for generations.  A powerful story about a family, separated by circumstances, culture, and distance, Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane paints an unforgettable portrait of a little known region and its people and celebrates the bond that connects mothers and daughters.

Okay guys Lisa See is literally amazing so you’d be dumb to pass up on this one if it even sounds remotely interesting to you.

Buy The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane on Amazon

30753708The Cutaway (March 21st)– When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.  Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.  Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

Ohhh this could either be really good or really bad and I don’t know which so here it is for you guys to judge!! Knock on wood the former, but I guess I’ll have to read it to find out.

Buy The Cutaway on Amazon

30754003Our Short History (March 21st)– Karen Neulander, a successful New York political consultant, has always been fiercely protective of her son, Jacob, now six. She’s had to be: when Jacob’s father, Dave, found out Karen was pregnant and made it clear that fatherhood wasn’t in his plans, Karen walked out of the relationship, never telling Dave her intention was to raise their child alone.  But now Jake is asking to meet his dad, and with good reason: Karen is dying. When she finally calls her ex, she’s shocked to find Dave ecstatic about the son he never knew he had. First, he can’t meet Jake fast enough, and then, he can’t seem to leave him alone.  With just a few more months to live, Karen resists allowing Dave to insinuate himself into Jake’s life. As she tries to play out her last days in the “right” way, Karen wrestles with the truth that the only thing she cannot bring herself to do for her son–let his father become a permanent part of his life–is the thing he needs from her the most. With heart-wrenching poignancy, unexpected wit, and mordant humor, Lauren Grodstein has created an unforgettable story about parenthood, sacrifice, and life itself.

This sounds so good for the right audience (not sure if that is me) and you’ll probably cry a lot reading it so I recommend.

Buy Our Short History on Amazon

30653967The Women in the Castle (March 28th)– Set at the end of World War II, in a crumbling Bavarian castle that once played host to all of German high society, a powerful and propulsive story of three widows whose lives and fates become intertwined—an affecting, shocking, and ultimately redemptive novel from the author of the New York Times Notable Book The Hazards of Good Breeding.  Amid the ashes of Nazi Germany’s defeat, Marianne von Lingenfels returns to the once grand castle of her husband’s ancestors, an imposing stone fortress now fallen into ruin following years of war. The widow of a resistor murdered in the failed July, 20, 1944, plot to assassinate Adolf Hitler, Marianne plans to uphold the promise she made to her husband’s brave conspirators: to find and protect their wives, her fellow resistance widows.  First, Marianne rescues six-year-old Martin, the son of her dearest childhood friend, from a Nazi reeducation home. Together, they make their way across the smoldering wreckage of their homeland to Berlin, where Martin’s mother, the beautiful and naïve Benita, has fallen into the hands of occupying Red Army soldiers. Then she locates Ania, another resistor’s wife, and her two boys, now refugees languishing in one of the many camps that house the millions displaced by the war.  As Marianne assembles this makeshift family from the ruins of her husband’s resistance movement, she is certain their shared pain and circumstances will hold them together. But she quickly discovers that the black-and-white, highly principled world of her privileged past has become infinitely more complicated, filled with secrets and dark passions that threaten to tear them apart. Eventually, all three women must come to terms with the choices that have defined their lives before, during, and after the war—each with their own unique share of challenges.  Written with the devastating emotional power of The Nightingale, Sarah’s Key, and The Light Between Oceans, Jessica Shattuck’s evocative and utterly enthralling novel offers a fresh perspective on one of the most tumultuous periods in history. Combining piercing social insight and vivid historical atmosphere, The Women in the Castle is a dramatic yet nuanced portrait of war and its repercussions that explores what it means to survive, love, and, ultimately, to forgive in the wake of unimaginable hardship.

This book first grabbed me because LOOK, it says “women” instead of “girl”.  That’s super exciting.  It also takes place AFTER Nazi Germany’s invasion (something I don’t often read about) and mentions The Nightingale, so like it’s perfect and going on my Want to Read list.

Buy The Women in the Castle on Amazon

28145767

Strange the Dreamer (March 28th)– the aftermath of a war between gods and men.  a mysterious city stripped of its name.  a mythic hero with blood on his hands.  a young librarian with a singular dream.  a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled.  alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.  Welcome to Weep.

I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK IT LOOKS SO SO SO GOOD!!!!!  It was on the list for sure, and I’m really hoping to get it sometime soon (*cough cough* little, brown books *cough cough*).

Buy Strange the Dreamer on Amazon

Writing Progress…

I’ve finally decided to stick with The Chemical Capitalists and run with it, so I should be able to move a tiny bit faster from here on out.  I would love it if I could talk to someone about diversity stuff, or maybe help me flesh out character development.  If not I’ll take it to Fictionpress and have that fam help me out.  I’m currently working on chapter 7, and plan to finish chapter 10 by the end of this month.

Editing Progress…

I’m over halfway done with my current project right now, and so I am in the process of looking for someone who wants an editor for their manuscript sometime in the next month or two! Head over to the editing service page to see if you are interested.  Services include editing, character development, finding plot holes, writeups, and anything you could possibly want me to do.  I do charge, but if you have a legitimate reason (ex. you’re in college, or just don’t have much money) I will lower the rates dramatically.

That’s all for me!  What is on your March TBR?  Are you writing a novel? Which March releases are you most excited for?


Check out my Social Media:

Twitter | TumblrBloglovin’Email | Goodreads | FictionPress

~ Now Venture out and Change the World ~

4 thoughts on “Looking forward on March (There’s so many good books in my future)

Leave a Reply

