Writing: A Shakespearean Sonnet

For Valentine’s Day this year, I wrote a sonnet to my mom, because I normally write her cute poetry since she’s my only possible Valentine (you are either going to judge me or completely relate so I’m not too worried).  This year, I decided to publish it, because I was really happy with the way it turned out!  I would love it if you guys could go check it out and let me know what you think, preferably by leaving a review on the site, but you could leave it here too if you want! Feedback (both positive and negative) would be appreciated!!

A Sonnet So True

While I’m here, I decided to write a brief introduction to what a sonnet is, and why I decided to write one.

A sonnet is a form of poetry that has a fairly strict format:

  • 14 lines
  • Rhyme Scheme: ABAB CDCD EFEF GG
    • In other words, there are three quatrains with every other line rhymes, and then a rhyming couplet at the end
  • Iambic Pentameter (note that I didn’t quite follow this in my poem)
    • 5 sets of stressed and unstressed syllables, I think per line.  This is supposed to tell you how to read it, but becomes incredibly difficult when you are trying to write it

These poems are normally used as an expression of love, and since they’re short people think they’re easy to write.  They’re not.

When I write poetry, I mostly write it in my head, and then once I have a few lines all figured out, I pull out my phone or a piece of paper and scribble it down, then go back to my head.  The reason for this is that it’s really freakin’ hard to write poetry that rhymes on your first try, unless you want to sound like a 2nd grader writing about the fat cat who sat on the mat.

It makes it even harder when you are writing for someone else.  I think this is crucial though, to write good poetry.  Even if you don’t plan on giving your sonnet to someone else, you should at least picture someone so that your poem has a good flow and you can feel the passion in the words.  Don’t love anyone but still want to write a sonnet? Use book characters, that normally works.  Or, make up a romance for yourself, but make it detailed.  You met at the drive in when you were 30 cents short for popcorn, and he paid for you, then proceeded to talk to you the whole time the movie was on and you hated him but fell in love… or something like that.  Even if these details don’t really come into play while writing, the undercurrent of emotion will be there.  The more complex, the better, because the poem will sound genuine.

That’s all I have for today!! I’m going to ask you one more time to read my poem because I’d love feedback!!

Have you ever written a sonnet– Share links below! If not, do you think you could write one?  What advice would you like to hear before starting to write poetry?  Do you have any advice to give? What do you think of my poem? So many questions, so much I want to know– comment below!

joce-sign-off


Check out my social media:

Twitter | TumblrBloglovin’Email | Goodreads | FictionPress

~ Now Venture Out and Change the World ~

Author: Joce

I read and I write about it. If I'm not online or with my nose in a book, I can probably be found at the basketball court.

Leave a Reply

